Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Phase 1: Self-Observation

This phase involves listening closely to your internal dialogue or self-talk and observing your own behaviors. You want to be especially aware of any negative self-statements that are actually contributing to your anxiety and panic symptoms.

Phase 2: Begin New Self-Talk

Once you recognize your negative self-talk, you can begin to change it. As you “catch” yourself in familiar negative thought patterns, you recreate a new and positive internal dialogue. “I can’t” becomes “It may be difficult, but I can.” These new self-statements now guide new behaviors. Rather than using avoidant behaviors to cope with panic and anxiety, you become willing to experience the anxiety-provoking situations. This leads to better coping skills, and as your small successes build upon one another, you make great gains in your recovery.

Phase 3: Learning New Skills

Each time you are able to identify and restructure your negative thoughts and change your response to panic and anxiety, your are learning new skills. Because you are now acutely aware of your thoughts, you are better able to gauge your anxiety and react in a more useful manner.

No comments:

Post a Comment